SOLS:2012.7 A New and Improved Plan

Sarah, my daughter and Taylor, her boyfriend are listening to my whining session about running. Taylor intently listens as I pour out my woes. My knees hurt. My hips hurt. I don’t understand why I can’t run when I’ve been working out every night. I can run inside to the Wii program. On and on I whine. I’ve seen Taylor run effortlessly. He is a fit guy so I’m listening when he gives advice. First he tells me I need to gradually increase my running time. I don’t need to run the whole time. I’m not sure in the whining session where he got the impression that I was running the whole time. Seriously he says, “Run one mile and then walk the next. Then repeat.” The swallow of drink I have in my mouth almost sprays the entire kitchen counter. “Taylor, A MILE? NO, NO, NO…you don’t understand. I’m just trying to do 8 repetitions of running for 60 seconds and then walking for 90 seconds. ” Nodding his head as if he understands, he utters in a nice nonjudgemental way, “Oh.” I think I notice a twinkle in his eye as he realizes where I’m coming from. “Well, that is a good start.” Loving that boy more. Moving on to more advice, he tells me I need to confuse my muscles. Don’t run everyday. Take a rest day. Alternate days with different kind of cardio exercise. Use weight machines at the gym to build the leg muscles to support my knees. And he suggests that I might want to wear ankle weights during the day. “When you take the weights off your feet are going to feel light as a feather.” That sounds good. Feet as light as a feather. Yes, I want to feel like a feather because my feet feel like lead weights.

A new workout plan is created!

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized, weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOLS:2012.7 A New and Improved Plan

  1. Tam says:

    This is hilarious. I can see you almost spitting out your drink!! What a quick recovery for Taylor. He is a gem! I love the idea of the ankle weights. I need to feel like I’m light on my feet and light as a feather!!! Would I stumble and fall at my age? Please ask Taylor. Oh, Deb, people should pay to read your posts–you’d be a millionaire!! Thanks for the laughter.

  2. Jessica says:

    Thanks for the slice! You put a smile on my face. I have these conversations with my husband all the time.

  3. elsie says:

    Everything falls in place when you have a plan. It’s great to have a support team (in running and writing).

  4. Jaana says:

    I am thinking that I should also try the ankle weights….Thanks for a great post! Hope you will write more about your running expeditions!

  5. Debbi says:

    Oh, Deb! I so get the knees and hips hurting! It is a wise man who can cover a verbal blunder so rapidly. Your last line is my favorite line. It is my feelings, too.

Leave a comment