SOLS: 2013:19 The Rest of the Story – Territorial Wolves

sols_6Time: Summer 1975

Place: Living Waters Camp   Cassopolis, Michigan

Stories have layers. There is always another layer to peel back. Stories within a story.  Two or even more sides of a story. Paul Harvey made “The Rest of the Story” radio broadcasts popular by sharing more of a little known story. Mr. Harvey would then end his broadcast with, “And now you know the rest of the story.”

There is more to the story, The Howl of  Love. https://deliveringreadingpassion.wordpress.com/2013/03/10/sols-201310-the-howl-of-love/  I mentioned that it had been a year of change. One of those changes was the end of a two year 1/2 year college relationship with a boy named Alan.  It was one of those bittersweet endings. We had parted ways because my spiritual beliefs had changed. He wasn’t sure of his own spiritual beliefs and his emotional feelings for me.  One of the reasons I changed schools was to make the parting easier but changing schools was big time change. Often I felt like I was in a whole different world surround by people I didn’t know, new belief systems and a different way of schooling.  I had begun my college education at Bloomington IU. Imagine going from apartment living with lots of freedom and large lecture halls filled with students to a small Bible college dorm with small classes in northern Indiana. A Bible school with lots of rules…a dress code…required attendance at chapel every day…curfew…new Bible classes on my schedule. Big change. After the months of separation Alan wanted to spend the 4th of July holiday weekend at camp with me. I was fine with that.

“Wolves are highly territorial animals…” states Wikipedia.

Steve knew about my past romantic relationship with Alan. The weekend began with me picking up Alan in Elkhart and driving him back to the camp. Guess who greeted us? Steve. Guess who would eat with us every meal served in the lodge? Steve. I would be in the middle between Steve and Alan for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Guess who put Alan, who had never been on a horse, on the biggest horse in camp? And then gave Tex the horse a big slap on the rump? Steve. No, it was Scott, Steve’s friend. All I remember is Alan hanging on to Tex’s mane for dear life while they both went charging up a camp hill.  Guess who went to evening worship service? All three of us side-by-side. Not sure if Alan experienced the archery and rifle field. Maybe I nixed that idea after the horse ecapade. What was truly miraculous was the baptism of Alan in the cool water of spring-fed ponds at the camp before the weekend was over. And now you know the rest of the story…well, unless you peel another layer and find another story within a story.

Written by Barb Rosenstock

Written by Barb Rosenstock

at Yosemite

at Yosemite

This entry was posted in Camping, John Muir, National Parks, Theodore Roosevelt, U.S. Presidents, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOLS: 2013:19 The Rest of the Story – Territorial Wolves

  1. elsie says:

    Good for Steve, he got the prize. Thanks for the background layer of this story. It was fun to picture. Did you realize this was going on at the time?

  2. Tam says:

    Aha! Steve was bound and determined. Glad Alan got baptized anyway and not drowned!

  3. Shelley K says:

    Oh, Deb, you always make me smile! I love the “rest of your story!” What great voice, humor, and description! One of my favorite lines was, “Guess who put Alan, who had never been on a horse, on the biggest horse in camp? And then gave Tex the horse a big slap on the rump? Steve. No, it was Scott, Steve’s friend.” I loved the irony there! Thanks for sharing the rest of the story! 🙂 I feel there is MUCH more to come, though!!! 🙂

  4. Ruth Ayres says:

    Stories have layers…and layers…and layers. I’m glad you’re peeling back some of yours.

Leave a Reply

