SOLS:2012.8 There’s An App for That

How many times have you heard the phrase, “There’s an app for that!” It seems like everyone carries some type of technology whether it be a smart phone, IPAD  or an IPOD touch. Enter the app store where you can shop for hundreds and hundreds of apps. I’m even using an app for my 5K training…Couch to 5K. The teachers in our districts are searching for apps that engage students as they practice skills they need to obtain.. There are apps for you to keep track of weight loss, keep you organized, keep you entertained and help you plan your meals. The list goes on and on. Disney World even has an app  to use when you visit their theme parks. You can find out the wait time of your favorite ride.

“There’s an app for that.” came to mind when I once again, was asking for running advice from Ruth. Ruth is not only our writing coach but I have learned that she runs. As we were talking she asks, “Have you read Heatbeat by Sharon Creech? Well, no,  I haven’t.  I quickly go to the Amazon store to search for yet another title to drop into the shopping cart. It came yesterday. I’ve opened the first pages to discover a young girl Annie and her passion for running. Not connecting to that running passion yet but am appreciating Annie’s passion.

Back to the phrase, “There’s an app for that!” I was thinking there is a book/story for any kind of life we are experiencing. My new phrase I will be using… “There’s a book for that! ”

Using free-verse poems, Sharon Creech connects the rhythm of running to life’s rhythms through her characters Annie and Max.

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOLS:2012.8 There’s An App for That

  1. elsie says:

    I (heart) Sharon Creech. This sounds like it is written like Love That Dog. I know there’s a book for every need, I just wish I had time to read more. I like that phrase, “There’s a book for that.” It could be my new mantra.

  2. Debbi says:

    Good connections, Deb! I like how you take a common phrase and reconnect it to your life. Read that book to see if it should be added to our poem list for Honors!

  3. Tam says:

    I have a lot to learn about apps. I guess that’s why I write down book titles that people utter–must be good if someone I know talks about it. Books spell out what we have been thinking all the time but couldn’t put it into words. Here’s to apps and book!

  4. Cathy says:

    Hmmm, I wonder if you can find me an e-book??? 🙂 I’m excited to see how you share your “there’s a book for that”.

    Keep it up with the running…each step is worth it!

  5. blogpraylove says:

    Love your new phrase! I’ll be thinking about it as I ponder about the books I have read. Definitely picking up Heartbeat.

  6. Ruth says:

    There’s a book for that!

    Oh, this is perfect — on so many levels. Can’t wait to hear how it plays out.

    I’m glad you are reading HEARTBEAT. I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts.
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

