SOLS:2012.6 The Sweetest Words

I have been been smitten by a boy with big blue eyes that often change hue depending on the shirt color he’s wearing.  I lovingly call him Boy Blue. In the past I called him Little Boy Blue but I’ve dropped  “Little” now that he is twelve.  I even have to be careful in using Boy Blue.; save it for special times. Of course all grandmothers are smitten by their grandchildren but the two of us have forged a special bond.  (Yes, Grandpa, he shares a special bond with you also.) This bond began when I first held him after delivery. We’re just kindred spirits. 

He was born during the year I was in Reading Recovery training so I carefully observed literacy milestones he achieved. I carefully monitored  as he gained command of letters and sounds. I  lovingly watched as he pulled his favorite picture books off the shelf to “read”.  His Grandpa and I read story after story as he listened with delight.  I thought thankfully, “I have a reader here.” 

BUT…

by the time he reached second grade he wasn’t making  progress as quickly as expected. Reading became a struggle. His interest in reading waned. Writing was difficult. These words would tumble out, “I really don’t like to read.”

BUT…

he knew that grandma loved books…well, grandma was like crazy weird about books. She bought books for every birthday and Christmas. She would always ask, “What are you reading?” even if she expected a nonchalant response.

AND so it goes.

I would think, “What went wrong here?” I wanted this love of books passed on but I began to think it wasn’t going to happen.

AND

I received a phone call last night from Boy Blue. “Hey, Grandma, I need some more books. I’m almost finished with the last Percy Jackson.”  The sweetest words.

I haven’t read the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan but if Boy Blue is reading it, it must be good.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOLS:2012.6 The Sweetest Words

  1. elsie says:

    If Boy Blue is reading it, I would be reading it too. Those are the sweetest words a book lover could hear. I loved the way you had the breaks with but and and. FYI, I did Reading Recovery too.

  2. karidyer says:

    Such a tender slice. Boy Blue’s call must have just warmed your Grandma’s heart through and through.

  3. newtreemom says:

    The sweetest words…I know what you mean! When my reluctant reader fell in love with Laurie Halse Anderson, I couldn’t buy those books fast enough. I sat up nearly all night reading the first one we got so I’d be ready when she finished reading it and said something about it (when I was supposed to be writing lesson plans!)

  4. Tam says:

    You didn’t give on him and that made all the difference in the world. You just never know, so never give up!! I guess you now have a new series to read.

  5. likb says:

    This post is so sweet. It makes me think about watching Livvy as she develops her love for reading. Each time she reaches a milestone or illustrates one of her many books, I am amazed and grateful that she has developed a love for reading, too. It is one of the greatest gifts we can give those we love (after a love for each other and the Lord, of course!).

  6. Ruth says:

    I want to jump up and down and clap my hands and dance a little jig. This is very good news. And look who he turned to when he needed the next read — “crazy weird person about books!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

