SOLS: 2013:23 Lighthouse White

sols_6This is my first visit to coastal Maine. I’m creating a list of new experiences and observations for sharing. Had a wonderful day attending a Choice Literacy Workshop. Looking forward to tomorrow. Ruth and I took a walk before dinner and I tried to write a poem about it.  How can a few written words be so difficult? This writing is hard…as hard as running. At least I do not sweat when I write so I don’t need to take an extra shower.  We had dinner at Archer’s, a restaurant on the water in Rockland, Maine. A new friend that coaches south of Boston joined us. We then visited the Fresh Bakery in Camden, Maine. YUM! Salted Caramel Chocolate Torte…need I say more about that?

Lighthouse White

Bundled tight
Breakwater walk
Pushing on
Lighthouse white.

Brutal wind
Lingering cold
Pushing on
Lighthouse white.

Careful steps
Slapping waves
Pushing on
Lighthouse white.

Safe refuge
Rest awhile
Lighthouse white.

Runny nose
Rosy cheeks
Return again
Gray rock shore.

Gail Gibbons

Gail Gibbons

This entry was posted in Gail Gibbons, Lighthouse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLS: 2013:23 Lighthouse White

  1. Ruth Ayres says:

    I’m glad you were brave and posted your poem. The last stanza is my favorite. I love it when poets break the pattern. (And, yes, YOU are a poet.)
    Ruth

  2. Your poem gives me a sense of the cold, biting wind. And how steady the lighthouse has been thrust the years. Your day sounds great.

Leave a comment