SOLS: 2013:12 Finally, I’m A Big Girl

Background Knowledge: I’m very fond of the aroma of coffee. I always breathe a little deeper when coffee is brewing. Both of my parents drank coffee. My husband has to have a morning cup. My friends drink coffee. My colleagues drink coffee…except for Ruth Ayres. She had me worried when we were attending a workshop a year or so ago and there was a steaming cup of coffee she had sitting on her placemat. “What’s up with the coffee?” I asked. This is not a direct quote but her answer was something like this: I think writing and coffee go together. I think I’ve acquired a taste for it. “REALLY?” I say. So I think, maybe I need to try coffee again. I pour myself a cup from the carafe on the table. Gingerly I put the cup to my lips to take a small sip and act writerly. UGH! Coffee has the most wonderful smell but it still tastes like dirt. I give Ruth one of my looks as she nurses her cup of coffee and looks very writerly.

sols_6August 2012: The road beckons me in the summer as I love to use my “vacation” time from school for traveling. Often I go alone as my husband only has two weeks off for vacation time annually.  I usually plan at least one summer road trip with Boy Blue, my grandson whom has blue-green eyes that are framed by long dark lashes. One of Boy Blue’s responses to my question, “Where are places you would like to explore?” was the The Air and Space Museum in Washington D.C. Sounds like a plan. Our trip is planned and we’re off. Before too many miles are traveled Boy Blue requests a Cafe Mocha. “Is it ok with your mom if you drink coffee?” I ask the almost thirteen old. “She lets me have it sometimes.” he answers. I order him a Cafe Mocha and a diet Coke for myself.  My Diet Coke is quickly consumed before many miles go by and Boy Blue is snoozing in the passenger seat. Hmmm…maybe I’ll try one of these fancy coffees. I peek over to see if his eyes are still shut and sneak a sip. Hmm…doesn’t taste like dirt. How could that be? Pretty soon, I’m becoming bold in taking sips and I hear, “Grandma, what are you doing?” I responded, “Christian, can you believe it? This coffee actually tastes pretty good.” We decide we need to stop and try another kind of coffee. Christian can’t believe it. It is our big news when we return home. Grandma is drinking coffee.

When school begins and I see Ruth, I share my news, “I’m a big girl now. I drink coffee!” She smiles in a very writerly way.

March 2013: I’m still a big girl and drink coffee although not everyday. Sometimes it is not even once a week. Yesterday Steve bought me a tall iced coffee from a town errand. I pour some of the coffee into a large glass of  milk and ice. I open a few packets of natural raw sugar and nurse the glass all day long wondering if I have truly made the crossover to the big girl drink. And is coffee drinking something I really want to pursue?  : )

I usually suggest a book to go along with my post but not one book popped into my head until I thought about why Americans are coffee drinkers. It all began here!

I love this informational series. Very engaging.

I love this informational series. Very engaging.Boston Tea Party by Pamela Duncan Edwards

This entry was posted in Boston Tea Party, Road Trips, Uncategorized, You Wouldn't Want To Be Series and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to SOLS: 2013:12 Finally, I’m A Big Girl

  1. Jodi Mahoney says:

    I love the way your post takes us through your coffee journey. I’m not a coffee drinker either…hmmm…..

  2. elsie says:

    I love how you took me through the saga of developing a taste for coffee. No, you don’t really want to pursue the coffee demon. Just be an occasional visitor and you will be better off. 🙂

  3. Coffee truly IS an acquired taste….my coffee hey-this-isn’t-bad-tasting moment came years ago when we were eating double chocolate doughnuts in the car. Terribly thirsty but all we had to drink was the black coffee my husband was sipping. He said, “Try it – it’ll taste ok after the sugary taste of the doughnuts”

    What do you know?? He was right!!

    I think YOUR coffee tale is much more interesting!

  4. Tam says:

    I can’t believe Ruth is drinking coffee now. I didn’t realize you didn’t. I could write a post on coffee, too. Some tastes do have to be acquired, but I’ve been drinking it since I was 9 years old. There’s something about the way you write Deb that is so inviting, nurturing, and whimsical, just like your smile. Your writing just flows every day.

  5. mpistek says:

    Black coffee is gross! I wont drink that either… but the mocahs and iced coffees… no one can resist! Yummmm!

  6. jhaworthoy says:

    I wonder how many of us will comment that we are not coffee drinkers either. I have always loved the aroma, but the taste was too much to try to acquire a taste for it. I just might have to try an iced one of mocha. I loved that you and your grandson had a bit story to tell when you got home…Grandma drinks coffee! Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  7. Jtaylor says:

    I too have made the comment that I am not a big girl, because I don’t drink coffee. I have tried it a few times, but have never liked it.

  8. Jaana says:

    I love coffee, BUT I only love great coffee! If the coffee isn’t great, I am rather without it. So, I would say, drinking great coffee is worth pursuing!

  9. Ruth Ayres says:

    Yum! I’m catching up on my reading…it’s like getting to read a book by you!

Leave a Reply

