SOLS 2013:11The Hunt of the Wolf

sols_6Guest Blogger: Blog-stalking Husband, Steve

The story of the Howl of Love is absolutely accurate and I must admit tears came to my eyes as I was transcended to those early times. I admit I do stalk my wife’s blog but I try to respect her boundries. She gave me “permission” to reply and I was about to do so, but realized it would be longer than any reply should ever be. My comments to Deb led to the result that I could do a guest blog. Please understand that there is no way I can weave the stories she does and give you a good book at the end. But each one of you who blog must know that there are those that are consumed by love for you for who you are!

Yesterday’s blog pretty much tells the story of how I started to fall in love with the one that married me. What it does not tell you is how that really went down. I WAS that guy leaning against the table. I was a previous empoyee of the camp since I gave horse trail rides to groups coming to the camp during the winter from Chicago as well as other places. A buddy of mine and I were greeting and “checking out” the newbies. I was not looking for a romantic  prospect. That does not change the fact that by the end of that two weeks of training this older college girl “possessed” me!

I spent the remainder of the summer spending every moment with our Water Safety Instructor that I could. After trail rides and horsemanship classes I would take my favorite Arabian horse (Charger) to the beach to see Deb. It took me and the smartest horse I have known in my life most of the summer to capture her. There are some stories about our romance that involve both her dog, Rattler,  and Charger that could be told..but not today.

I will strive to keep this short as possible. I can not count the number of times I asked Deb to marry me! I will tell you I remember COUNTLESS (closer to hundreds than dozens) responses of “You have to be kidding”, to “I don’t think so”, to “maybe” to “okay…if you quit asking!” That was it! I never got a yes before the “I do”. The okay was good enough for me! I dare say the time beteen the howl of the the wolf and the capture of his life partner was well worth it!

Some more favorite wolf books from Deb:

One of my newer favorite authors. Talk about plot tension. Students are always engaged with this one!

One of my newer favorite authors. Talk about plot tension. Students are always engaged with this one!

Is this one a classic yet? Still love it after many readings in the classroom.

Is this one a classic yet? Still love it after many readings in the classroom.

This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized, Wolves and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to SOLS 2013:11The Hunt of the Wolf

  1. elsie says:

    Wolf howler, Steve, you tell a story of one who was smitten and continues to be enamored by a captivating woman. This is the ultimate love story. So nice to read in the days where too many give up on their love. I’m sure life has its ups and downs, but you work to keep it together. Lovely!

  2. Judy Curtiss says:

    Welcome, Steve – guest blogger. Thanks for sharing “your side of the story” and what a fantastic story it is. I can tell how much you love and appreciate your wife. Glad that you could share with us. My hubby is very enthusiastic about reading what I write, but never in a million years would he share!

  3. caroline524 says:

    What a great idea to have you be a guest blogger. My husband may be inspired after he reads this.

  4. jhaworthoy says:

    Thanks, Steve…loved that you are a guest blogger. Now, are you going to start your own? It sounds like you have lots of stories to tell…and you express yourself quite well. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

    • Deb says:

      Thanks Jackie. We will have to see what happens. I will continue stalking Deb’s Blogs for sure and enjoying all of your comments and sharing! 🙂 Maybe if I behave well I will be invited as guest again.

  5. Shelley K says:

    I love it! Wow! What an awesome couple! I so enjoyed reading your blog/guest post today, Steve! You made me smile! Thanks for sharing all those FUN memories! How very cool!

  6. Love is grand. There is nothing sweeter than mutual love and affection. Glad you were the Guest blogger.

  7. Dina says:

    Love this post. Oh camp, what a great place!

  8. Tam says:

    See what love stories do–we want to read more! Love the line “But each of you who blog must know that there are those that are consumed by love for you for who you are.” True Love. Steve, you are quite the writer and full of personality just like Deb is. I can hear her turning you down over and over. Always with that big smile. I will not hear howling the same way now.

  9. Ruth Ayres says:

    I’m a little late to the party…but I am so glad to hear your voice in the midst of the stories. You’re last paragraph had me laughing…I can totally hear Deb! I’m glad you didn’t let her chase you away! Hoping to hear more of the story from you…perhaps you should start a blog too!
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

