SOLS: 2013:7 Favorite Hang-Out

sols_6Discovery road trips for me usually involve stops at one of my favorite hang-outs…the buildings that houses books…libraries. Each one is as unique as each of us. The architecture. Some are from the Carnegie era. Some are small as they serve a small rural community but often have materials specific to the area they are located and not found elsewhere.  Some are large as they serve a city and you can get lost wandering through stacks that stand taller than a NBA player. Usually the older libraries have more than one floor that have walls outlined in oak wood. Bannisters that feel smooth from time and that are older than the people who use them.  You can feel the dip in the old slate steps that are worn down from countless book travelers climbing up the stairs. Some are modern with an urban flair. As I enter a library I take a moment to inhale the rich smell of … books. Love that smell. Love the ambience of a library.  A feeling of anticipation begins to build as I walk in. What treasures will I find? Will a  mystery of my family’s past be will be solved? Or will a new mystery be discovered? I open books and gently feel the paper…so many textures. I know, it is weird.  It makes me sad when I read the that books will be obsolete…I already see them in antique shops.  Oh, I know people will read but sometimes it’s difficult to embrace parts of this digital age.

Yesterday this article caught my eye as worry about one of my favorite friends, the library. My first thoughts were of disappointment. The phrase, “Don’t sell out!,” kept circulating in my head but then I thought…survival. Some of these ideas are very unique. What do you think?

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/03/06/public-libraries-loaning/1962011/

One of my favorite among many is: The Library Dragon

Here is a list of books about libraries from Good Reads:

http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/724.Picture_Books_about_the_Library_#565140

This entry was posted in article, Book Selection, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOLS: 2013:7 Favorite Hang-Out

  1. Jennifer S. says:

    Thank you for giving me a moment to remember the small library from my hometown, Deb. It used to be a house so you had to walk through several small rooms to get to the children’s section. And when we had research to do we went to look in the card catalog….what a change to today!!!

  2. mtsedwards says:

    Although I can’t live without internet connectivity and my laptop, I am also part of that waning breed of bibliophile that craves the smell and texture and heft of printed pages. I don’t own a Kindle because of this very obsession. And if libraries loan out oddities and artifacts in order to stay relevant and keep paper in their demesnes, then I say more power to them!

  3. Chris H. says:

    It is mind boggling that libraries could struggle to remain relevant. Ebooks are not do inexpensive that we can (or would want to) buy them for every book I read. I guess digital borrowing is up and coming? I don’t know …I am all about the real thing in this case.

  4. Dina says:

    Oh libraries…I love the smell of libraries! I don’t go often enough. I’m making it a goal to go to the library once a week this summer. Libraries 🙂

  5. Tam says:

    Yes, the hallowed oak rooms and furniture of libraries gone. So the card catalogue still exists! Since our library is connected to the Community Center, it has definitely become a neighborhood hang out with all kinds of programs and activities–community outreach is where it’s at today. I still think real books cannot be beat. I have a Kindle but cheish a book with real pages.

  6. What a great post! I am a bibliophile and love books. I understand that our society is moving and changing. The ebooks are here. Many of my 7th and 8th graders have their own devices. Our middle school was received grants to make nooks available for check out.

    I love the idea of being able to check out seeds. Libraries are about books but they are also about people. What do our communities need. Libraries are having to adapt to survive. Much like the changes that came about in the music industry not too many years ago. I still love the feel of a good book in my hands.

Leave a Reply

