SOLS:1:2013 Waves Along the Shore

sols_6Some words that came out of my mouth today …”sometimes relationships with others is like a wave on the seashore…there is an ebb and flow.” Close and not feeling as close. Ever changing. Sometimes thunderous crashing and churning with words that are full of emotion. Other times gentle lapping with words that are soothing. Sometimes a backdrop of cloudless brilliant blue skies. Happiness shining through. Other times a backdrop of angry gray of an approaching storm. Sadness gathering up ready to overflow.  Different hues of green, blue and gray ocean water that are visible through the ever changing light. Relationships.

The conversation between the ladies of the Literacy Room was focused on daughters. Some young still at home and others grown on their own. Our own relationships present and past with our mothers. Ever changing.

The conversation ended but the connection between relationships and waves continued to  break in my mind…my relationships with my colleagues, my spouse, friends.

Sometimes those waves can knock you down but I know from childhood days spent at the beach you laugh or cry, wipe the spray from your face, and wait confidently to stand again. I also know that there will be other waves that will just gently lap my feet. Ebb and flow. Ever changing. Waves. Relationships.

my-life-with-the-waveMy Life With The Wave is written by Catherine Cowan and illustrated by Mark Buehner. The picture book is based on the story by Nobel Prize winner Octavio Paz. A great model of personification for readers and writers.

This entry was posted in personification, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SOLS:1:2013 Waves Along the Shore

  1. I love when there is an example to grab in something we experience in life to help explain the complexities of the emotions we experience. Waves…exactly!

  2. Tam says:

    So poetic. Lovely way to describe relationships and, oh, so true! It’s a good thing we have supportive groups along the way to carry us through the storms. No, I didn’t read 71 posts–just exclaiming at the number this morning at 9:00! SOLS Challenge lives. You are such a good writer, Deb.

  3. mpistek says:

    I am a child who grew up at the beach on warm summer days… your last paragraph just struck my heart strings!

  4. ccahill2013 says:

    I can see it, I can feel it, I have lived it. Your writing inspried me – i am making notes in my writers notebook as we speak!

  5. elsie says:

    I love the way you can connect a book to your posts. That is a very fun book. Can’t wait to see what else you have this month.

  6. Shelley K. says:

    I love this comparison! So very true…I love the first line of the last paragraph especially…”You laugh or cry, wipe the spray from your face…” What a life truth!

  7. Laura Komos says:

    I love the way you so accurately described relationships in our lives! I’ve never thought of it quite that way before, but it absolutely makes perfect sense. I’m sitting here pondering my relationships, both past and present, and remembering the ebb and flow of each of them. I thank you!

Leave a Reply

