SOLS:2012.31 Speaking Suitcase

First day of Spring Break is finally here. My husband and I just completed the first leg of this year’s travel experience. As I rummage through my suitcase to find something to wear today, I’m thinking, “What was I thinking?” There is not really much in here although the suitcase is crammed full of stuff. It hits me that the suitcase speaks to what is going on in my life at this moment of time.

The days before Spring Break are always crazy at school. This year the days were peppered with book fairs, a spring program, Grandparent Week, Family Fun Read Night, analyzing teacher evaluation rubrics, pd, IREAD, ISTEP, workshops, and just the usual school stuff. I was also wearing spring…well actually summer clothes, because we were blessed with several days of summer weather. That meant that my clothes weren’t in “storage” but in the washer or in the laundry basket or even laying on the floor. Yep, that happens in our house.

What I do notice in my suitcase is running gear. I can’t take a break from those training runs because I would lose the little I’ve gained. You would think you would not need much “gear” to run but let me tell you…shorts, wicking shirt, wicking socks, hair bands, running bra, shoes, jacket, ipod, phone to track the run, ear buds, and the list goes on. You have to have different kind of clothes depending on the weather. Suitcase is full of running gear. Lacking on everyday wear. I guess I could walk around and look like a professional runner…that has some extra weight.

Shoes…I tried to keep it simple but I did have to pack something for a nice dinner or two and the same shoes just won’t work. Shoes are heavy and take a lot of space.

Books…you can’t travel without books and I have several. Reading my heart out is my idea of a relaxing vacation. I haven’t bought a Kindle yet. The Book Fair gave me lots of selections to choose from. I have books stuffed everywhere as I can’t put them in the same bag because of weight. This is the biggest plus for breaking down and buying some type of reader.

Almost have one middle grade book completed and I’m loving it… One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia. The story of three girls meeting their mother who abandoned them is set in the sixties. My growing up era…wondering is this now considered historical fiction? I’m going to have to think about that thought because I already know the answer to that and it is a little disturbing.

This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLS:2012.31 Speaking Suitcase

  1. Tam says:

    Where are you traveling? I was afraid you were going to say you forgot your suitcase of clothes. I think going as a runner for vacation will make you look cool. Kindles would be great for vacation. I just bought 2 paperbacks. I needed to read and feel a book and be able to pass it on!!

  2. blogpraylove says:

    Safe travels wherever you go 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

