SOLS:2012.25 No Prosecution Today

The headline caught my eye while standing in the grocery checkout line, “Lose 20 Pounds in One Month…New research”. My husband was unloading our items on the belt so I had some time to browse headlines in the aisle. We both have been trying to take off some pounds and I was intrigued by the promise made by the magazine. I know that writers are hired to write headlines that will capture an audience so they will make a purchase. I took a moment to skim quickly the beginning of the article for maybe thirty seconds. I was caught again by a magazine headline…no new discoveries here. I put the magazine back and walked over to wait for our transaction to be complete when I heard these words, “your wife” from the young male cashier who was nodding in my direction. Perking up to a more straight posture, I lean in to listen. My husband has a somewhat bewildered look as he looks towards the cart. The cashier looks directly at me and says in a tone I don’t appreciate, You have stolen a magazine. When a person opens the cover of a magazine, reads, and does not purchase, that is stealing. The company could prosecute you. The company probably won’t but they would the employees.” I respond, “Seriously? I didn’t know that. They need to put a sign to inform the public that magazine cannot be skimmed in the checkout aisle.” He is now returning cash from our grocery purchase and says to my husband, “You can pay for the magazine with this change.”  SERIOUSLY? We both have brain freeze as we leave the store WITHOUT purchasing the magazine. I guess I never considered it stealing when I browse through a magazine or a book. Barnes and Noble encourages it. Websites will let you download a chapter of a book before purchasing. Heinemann will even post an entire book for a time period. There has been no knock on my door as of yet…but if I don’t show up for school tomorrow please post my bail. : )

I have no book to tie in to this post…I still have brain freeze. I have no idea what book that would tie to this experience. Do you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SOLS:2012.25 No Prosecution Today

  1. elsie says:

    That cashier was totally out of line. How ridiculous! Sorry, I don’t have a book title either.

  2. I don’t know- how about “Hunger Games, part 2”? What a little twerp. I think the clerk was just jealous he couldn’t browse like you did.It would kill me to check out magazines I hadn’t flipped through! Barnes and Noble puts big comfy chairs in front of the magazine racks in our store. I’m not sure what my reaction would be. My knee-jerk is to just find another place to grocery shop. I know that blogging about this has helped, hasn’t it? Your post gave me a smile today. Thanks.
    Diane

  3. MaryHelen says:

    Well this is a new one. I’m with you about Barnes and Noble, etc. Crazy.

  4. Deb Day says:

    Holy Cow. I’ve never heard of any store treating a customer this way! Glad you walked out without paying. Maybe you should tell the management…

  5. Jaana says:

    Never heard such a thing! Maybe next time they will check the fingerprints to find out how many times they can charge people for the same magazine…….If I were you, I don’t think I would know what to say either….

  6. Tam says:

    He was told he couldn’t read a magazine, I’m sure. He’s a kid over re-acting. In any case, he’s doesn’t own the store and they don’t have signs up–good point. I wonder what the store manager would say to his behavior. Book??? When Sophie Gets Angry–Really, Really, Angry. She says things she shouldn’t and strikes back at the world!!!

    • Deb says:

      Great book link along d. buchanan’s Hunger Games. : ) Steve did call management after I posted. They were very nice and there is no such “rule”. You’re right…he probably was reading a magazine while he was on the clock. It was bizarre!

  7. jen says:

    This made me curious – ya know those silly websites that share REALLY STUPID laws from different states? I wondered if this was one of them. I googgled, “Is it stealing to browse a magazine in a grocery store aisle?” Here was the top response (after the initial ad response):
    “Cow walks into a shop to browse the aisles: Amazing pictures of …” I guess there must not be anything better to answer with! 🙂

Leave a Reply

