SOLS 2012:16 Teachers and Paparazzi

It’s true. Teachers can act, look and sound like paparazzi. We stalk authors and illustrators with the same zeal that photographers stalk Hollywood celebrity.  Lights flash as teachers capture pictures to take back to their classrooms.

Somehow I walked out of the house today without my purse which carries my paparazzi equipment…my camera and my phone. I was disappointed that I wouldn’t be able to capture any photos of Laurie Keller, author of The Scrambled States of America, Arnie the Doughnut and several other titles. Delight replaced disappointment as I listened to Laurie as she told snippets of her girlhood and her writing/drawing journey. Seriousness prevaded as we touched a tooth and said the pledge to take care of our teeth. (Open Wide, Tooth School Inside) Kids were empowered as she walked them through a few drawing “lessons”. Giggles were heard as children shared their “dressed and decorated” otters.  The room crackled with energy as she showed a slide of book covers…her favorite reads from childhood. The buzz from conversation reached a loud hum in the room as children turned and commented on the titles…connection to their own reading lives. Thank you authors for empowering us all with your words and art.

It is difficult just to highlight one of Laurie Keller’s books. I decided on Arnie the Doughnut. What an unsuspecting doughnut! This chocolate frosted doughnut with sprinkles has no idea what the purpose of a doughnut is. He soon finds out. Future adventures of Arnie and Mr. Bing are on deck in chapter book length. Can’t wait.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SOLS 2012:16 Teachers and Paparazzi

  1. So very true that teachers are as bad as paparazzi. I remember seeing Lester Laminack at NCTE one year and almost stopped him to say hello like we were old friends. I had to remind myself that he had no idea who I was. It sounds like your school had a wonderful visit! I love the “buzz of conversation reached a loud hum.” How fun!

  2. elsie says:

    How sad to leave your paparazzi equipment at home. Authors are so inspiring, how fun for your kids to have this experience. Wish I could have been there!

  3. stacymccauley8 says:

    She really did have the kids involved. Even the third and fourth graders enjoyed her presentation. I am going to have to purchase her books. I would love to see the kindergarten drawings of Arnie. On her website there is a cute craft on how to make an Arnie the Doughnut necklace.

  4. Wendi says:

    Yes, we do love a good chase when it comes to our favorite authors! I met Kathy Collins at a workshop once and felt like a blubbering idiot, I was so dingdang excited. Your post was awesome, and now thanks to Arnie, all I want is a doughnut. 😉

  5. Ramona says:

    I love Arnie the Doughnut! It’s my favorite read aloud for highlighting voice with my 6th graders. I’m so jealous that you got to meet Laurie Keller. I can’t wait to tell my students about future adventures of Arnie and Mr. Bing in a chapter book. I love your words “delight replaced disappointment”. Thanks for sharing this snapshot of your day!

  6. Hopefully you had some paparazzi friends who took pics they can share with you?? At any rate, the experience is most certainly preserved through your words!

  7. MaryHelen says:

    Love the comparis on – well, let me rephrase. The comparison is rather clever. I guess I had never thought of myself that way, but I do know I love getting those pictures. Great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

