SOLS:2012.10 Reflection of Today’s Scrapbooking

I’m taking a break from scrapbooking. Since the weekend crop is only five minutes from home, I can take this luxury. The bad thing about being  so close though is you can run home and get more STUFF that you think you need. It will take me two trips at least to carry it all back out to the car when I have to pack up late tonight. I will tell you though I have “little” stuff to carry back compared to many ladies sitting around me. They bring their whole crafting rooms on luggage carriers.

What I have been thinking about today is life documentation. I’m questioning what I’m writing for some of the events. How honest should one be? As I think about it I think historians must have this problem also. Many of our content textbooks for students do seem to sanitize our history and show America in the best light. I think of the many beliefs I had for a long time and was surprised when I read different accounts when I was much older. So I’m thinking this through…how honest should I be with my family history? What perceptions will future generations have from my documentation if they read it? Hmm…

You will love this history text by Steve Sheinkin. He used to be an author of”boring” textbook history but now writes history as it should be…with humor, understanding, and a glimpse into the real lives of people who lived it. 5 stars for all of his “new” history books!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOLS:2012.10 Reflection of Today’s Scrapbooking

  1. Jama says:

    You bring up an interesting point. Our point of view written now may take on a new meaning in years to come. When we take the time to tell the details, though, it should help. Hmmm . . . This is something to ponder.

  2. Debbi says:

    I can understand your dilemma. I teach several stories through literature where I feel I have to share with my students “the rest of the story” so that they have accurate facts to take with them. Steve Sheinkin sounds like an author I should introduce to my students for their non-fiction reading! For your photos, though, you might want to limit how in depth you go. Make the albums something for anyone to enjoy. Keep skeletons for a journal! 🙂

  3. mrssurridge says:

    I’ve done weekend crops before and usually have the same issues. Sadly, when I have those issues, I put away the pen and just make more pages. There’s always tomorrow to decide how much I want to write! Great book suggestion!

  4. luckygurl says:

    This is great. I also have so much tension around how to create scrapbooks and document family history. I feel like a scrapbook is there to document the “happy” memories. That’s just too much pressure to make things seem perfect and smooth… How can you lend the right amount of color to a format so abbreviated so that it reflects the truth?
    marika

  5. Tam says:

    What a dilemma. I never thought of that part. I would like to see your scrapbooking sometime.

  6. Mrs. V says:

    The Crop Nights that I go to are just a few houses down from mine – so convenient. Even when my consultant switches venues for the larger crop weekends, it is still within a mile. I have also been reflecting on documenting life.

    I love that you connect a book to each post, and this one seems like a great addition to the classroom library to inspire critical analysis of history, with some humor of course!

Leave a Reply

