SOLS.2012.3 17 Minutes to …

Yep, it began with commiting to 17 minutes of exercise and now I have created a monster. 17 minutes was turning into 60 minutes…even 75 minutes at least five days a week. Walking steps were turning into a slow jog for some of the minutes. Whoa! Me jog? Isn’t jogging almost the same as running? For the last several years my oldest daughter has been encouraging me to run. She is a runner. I have always responded with a strong list of VALID excuses not to run. It is better to walk. Too many possibilities for injuries. Not good for the joints. Anyways I have NO desire to run. Slamming into asphalt with who knows how much pressure to each square inch on my aching bones and joints is just not smart. Why would people run when they can walk? Again, no desire to run. None.

But…I noticed myself becoming stronger and that I was actually beginning to jog through many songs…could it be possible? Perhaps I could jog…a little? I had reached a plateau with my weight loss numbers. Perhaps jogging or running (not quite ready to use the running word yet)  would help burn calories more quickly and efficiently. Then…the post. I noticed it on Facebook. A teacher in my district was beginning a class, Run for God.  I visited the site and found this information, “The 5K Challenge is a practical guide to running and a 12-week training plan aimed at running a 5K while maintaining a Christian focus. ” I deepened my investigation. Talk about multitasking: calorie burning exercise, bible study, build relationships, partner with my husband (hadn’t approached him yet, but I think I could talk him into it), and just think how proud my daughter would be of me.  THEN another thought…what an experience to share with students who do not like to read. I could share how I had no desire to run but through “practice” and support I became a runner and actually liked it. I could do this. I mean I think I was actually feeling a little “running high” when I was jogging through Rhythm Island on the Wii. I could do this. I signed up with feeling a measure of confidence, hope and excitement. And…

This entry was posted in running, weight loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOLS.2012.3 17 Minutes to …

  1. Mrs. V says:

    Enjoy your new journey! If you haven’t seen it before, you would probably love the following new blog: http://readingteachersrunning.blogspot.com/

  2. elsie says:

    Way to go! This will be quite an interesting journey and you will share your progress right? I am in awe that 17 minutes has turned into 75 minutes. Why can’t I find that passion in my walking? I used to jog on the downhill parts of my walk just so it would be over quicker. Okay, now when I walk I will have to have a more positive attitude because I will think of you. Grumble, grumble . . .
    BTW: Loved your “And . . .”

  3. grade4wizard says:

    Impressive amount of exercising in a week. Enjoy the running.

  4. Cvanlaeken says:

    Your post had me thinking about this verse…”I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”~ Philippians 4:13 You can do it!!!! 🙂

  5. Tam Hess says:

    I’m so glad you’re feeling that high. It will send you on your journey. I need to get it together myself. I can’t seem to get hooked this time. My body is changing again. Keep us posted.

  6. Betsy says:

    I love how you thought about your students and compared it to their challenges when reading. What a great idea and a great way to show that everyone can change their mind about something they “don’t like to do” through practice and support. Keep it up, what a great journey you are on!

Leave a Reply

