SOLS: 2012.2. 17 Minutes of Exercise to…

Waistbands…even those crafted from elastic material  were leaving cinch marks around my middle. The pounds were rolling on. UGH! The never ending battle for weight control…the battle I didn’t even have to think about as a young woman.  So I joined the many others  who began a new year with weight loss resolutions. Battle weapons: low carbs and exercise. I investigated the internet for different plans and talked to several people. The nurse at my doctor’s office told me about a patient who had lost 100 pounds in 3 months time! Her diet: roast beef. She worked in a deli and knew she loved roast beef. She must have really really loved roast beef. Didn’t think this would work for me even though I am fond of roast beef. I decided on the 17 Day Diet which promoted healthy eating choices and included a daily 17 minutes of exercise. Doable. Keeping it simple. Partnering with husband.  Committment.  Shopping trip. The bright pink 17 Day Diet book was placed in my shopping cart along with cleansing vegetables, fruit, green tea and different varieties of white meat. I also ordered a Wii fitness game called Walk It Out since January is in the midst of the winter season and I was  in a semi-state of winter hibernation. Limiting crunchy carbs was the most difficult for the both of us but we sure did have fun with the Wii fitness program. You walk to high energy music and earn points when you walk or jog in time. Earned points are used to explore new pathways around “Rhythm Island”. Points are also used  to create a more beautiful island filled with trees, animals, parks, flowers, buildings, etc. Within a few days 17 minutes of exercise was just not enough.  Interesting where that 17 minutes of exercise led me…  

This entry was posted in Cook Books, weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLS: 2012.2. 17 Minutes of Exercise to…

  1. luckygurl says:

    Congratulations on your diet and exercise commitment! Even though we don’t always eat and move like we should, it’s good to “shake things up” every once in a while, don’t you think? I really liked the metaphor “Battle weapons”… lol!
    marika

  2. Tam says:

    Good for you! I’ve been struggling all winter to get on board. I am eating more healthy foods and struggle with carbs, too. I feel like my age has added to my middle which wasn’t ever there before. I’m afraid I’m in for a lot of struggle. I can’t give in now. Good luck to us all!!!

Leave a Reply

