Reading on the Ceiling

SOLC 2011 28.31

Let’s travel back to the eighties…remember the song, Dancing on the Ceiling. It’s a fun song and just what I thought of when I left the dentist’s office after having my teeth cleaned. My hygienist is very smart. As you recline in the chair your eyes are focused on the ceiling. She has the ceiling covered with quotes and interesting facts.  Reading on the ceiling is great diversion while someone is working on your teeth. “Love, not time, heals all wounds.” was a quote that I carried with me from the ceiling.

Two of my favorite books about teeth:

American children are familiar with putting their tooth under their pillow  but there are many other tooth traditions that are different from ours. An interesting read for all ages. Throw Your Tooth on the Roof by Selby Beehler

A great book for learning all about those teeth inside of your mouth.

Open Wide: Tooth School Inside by Laurie Keller

This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reading on the Ceiling

  1. hey2blondie says:

    My dentist no longer has cool posters on the ceiling. You just have to watch this reoccurring tooth video. Thanks for sharing. I’ll have to check out those books!

  2. Sprice says:

    How fun! I remember that song! A great way to start a piece. I’ll have to try that! It was a great lead into the books! Love it! You ahve great ideas! Thanks for your comment! 🙂 Happy Slicing! 🙂 Only 3 days to go! I’ll miss this writing community though!

  3. the other ruth says:

    Hey, I may have to tell our dentist about this! I would love to have reading material up there during my visits. Great idea!

  4. Colette says:

    You have me very curious to read “Throw Your Tooth on the Roof”. It would be so interesting to share with the kids “teeth traditions” from other countries. As a child growing up in New Zealand, we would put our tooth in an empty glass. You always knew the tooth fairy had been, when you woke up in the morning, and the glass was upside down with money under it!!

  5. Linda Baie says:

    Nice to hear about the books. I’m keeping track & will share often with my colleagues. My dentist has trivia poster questions on the ceiling. A long time ago a former dentist has those old tiles with holes. I worked hard to count them all during my appointment. One dentist had tv. I actually thought it helped pass the time very well. Thanks for the slice!

  6. grade4wizard says:

    I like how your writing flows from a song, to a dentist visit, to reading on the ceiling, to tooth fairy, and cultural differences in tooth traditions. Poetry month coming up you can suggest your dentist to display some poetry on his ceiling.
    Terje

Leave a Reply

