Make New Friends

SOLC 2011 27.31

We met St. Louis daughter in downtown Indy to pick up Boy Blue (grandson) for the week. The Old Spaghetti Factory is one of our favorite places to eat in downtown. According to the menu Homer ate pasta saturated with browned butter topped with Mizithra  cheese when he wrote the Iliad. We also buy a pound or two of Mizithra cheese to take along home to enjoy the meal again.

As we are eating book loving daughter shares that the downtown Borders a few blocks aways is closing and everything is 50 – 60 % off. I knew that Borders had filed for bankruptcy. The downtown Borders store is located in a historic building with lots of character and across the street from the old L.S. Ayres building which holds many memories for me. I’m feeling a little sad as we walk to the Borders store. I’m thinking of a song I sang as a child in Camp Fire Girls. “Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other is gold.” Why can’t we keep the old with the new? Will there not be room for both?  Is this the beginning of the end of books as we know them?  A teacher shared with me how holding and reading a book is a learned experience. I just needed to relearn reading text electronically. Part of my reading is electronic. I just want to hang on to books.  Did people feel this way when they changed from scrolls to books?

Some of my book purchases at Borders:

A few of my buys:

Author: Cindi Rigsbee

 Finding Mrs. Warnecke  The Difference Teachers Make

Up From the Blue

This entry was posted in book review, book sellers, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make New Friends

  1. Linda Baie says:

    I don’t know what’s going to happen. Evidently indie bookstores are doing okay, unless they’ve long ago gone out of business & that was early on because of the competition with Amazon. If everyone bought locally, things might hang in there. Our wonderful local, independent bookstore is going strong, but it has a strong customer base that wouldn’t set foot in a chain. I’m still for print books, but I’m so much older that I think I might not count anymore. My grandson is growing up with an IPad, so he may not have that loyal feeling to print that we do. What a dilemma we face.

  2. Tam says:

    Boy Blue? Love that! I went to Border’s last Friday to get some deals–bought for birthdays, and some DiCamillo books. They didn’t have Tales of Desperaux, but I bought 2 of the Elephant’s Magician (or is it the other way around?), one for Indy kids and one for great niece in San Diego. I know what you mean about Border’s and memories and books and electronics. I almost wrote a blog on that but I don’t own an ebook, so I don’t know if I would like it or not. I guess you could read both. I don’t want to see books go–that would be too much for me.

  3. Colette says:

    Your post went right along with a discussion that Zoe (my 14 year old daughter) had coming home from Fort Wayne tonight! We had a discussion about e-books and how it just wouldn’t be the same not having pages to turn, and a real book to hold in your hands. We both agreed REAL books are the best!

Leave a Reply

