Intentional Reading Plans

SOLC 2011 23.31

Blinking red lights in the distance used to cause a big sigh of frustration …. You see I have to cross the double train tracks that run through Goshen to get to school. I have tried leaving at different times but like my departure times from home, train schedules are not exact. If the train was traveling on the north-south tracks it was going to be a long sloooooow wait…up to 7 or 8 minutes. Depending on my home departure time this meant that the possibility of being late or not getting there when I intended. UGH! Anxiety level would raise a few points as I worried about the things I would not get accomplished before the school bell rang. This all changed one day when the train was exceptionally long. I pulled out a book from my teaching bag. Anxiety level lowered. Now I welcome the red flashing red lights…well, most of the time. Donalyn Miller, author of The Book Whisperer, calls these times reading emergencies. A reading emergency to me is when I don’t have anything to read. Donalyn Miller definition is intentional reading plans. Intentional reading plans are having a book ready to go for those waiting moments. Intentional reading plans are planning times to read. She talks to her students before school breaks.” What are your reading plans for Spring Break?” Wise woman. When students make a plan for reading they are more likely to take time to read. Same with adult readers. We read when we make intentional plans. We read when we have words available. Technology has made that easier with book readers and apps on our phones. Have a book or reading application read for all those waiting moments. You can “steal” minutes for reading.

Happy Intentional Reading Where Ever You Are!

Our next read for the Monday Night Mavens, a book club of ladies who enjoy to read and get together.

This entry was posted in book review, Book Selection, Donalyn Miller, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Intentional Reading Plans

  1. Elizabeth E. says:

    Thanks for your lovely comment on my blog (on my bad day). I think I just wanted to try to write about a down day, as we writers always trend to the highlights. It was a stretch being so open about a teary moment, but I’m glad I did it (and I was quite touched by all the atta-boy comments!).

    I, too, used to get frustrated by trains until I decided I would take the time to listen to them. So, if it’s not too cold, I roll down the window and let the clackety-clacks wash over me for however long it takes. I think of it as a little break from the world’s pressures, even if I am running late and the train made me later. I like your idea of making it a reading moment–our trains are a little shorter–but the idea is the same.

    BTW, we did Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet in my class. Everyone loved it!

  2. Ruth Ferris says:

    I usually have a book with me. For just such emergencies. Great post.

Leave a Reply

