Changing the World Story by Story

SOLC 2011 20.31

My usual mode of gathering global and local news is on the internet in the morning.  Late Friday night found me on the couch in a vegetative state. Didn’t even want to make the short trek to bed so I laid on the couch with remote in hand. My ears perked up when I heard the words book club and school children. Children that were involved in a book club were inspired by E. Coerr’s book, Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes. Since reading the book the children decided to send cranes to Japan. This act of kindness was decided a few days before the earthquake. Since the earthquake their project has taken on a deeper meaning. Catch the news video clip and article.  The video clip is right of the article. As I listened and watched the clip, I remember standing in St. Paul’s Chapel (Trinity Church) in New York City a few years after 9/11. The church stood across the WTC and was a place of refuge for minutes, hours, days, weeks, and even years after the tragedy. Firemen hung their shoes on the iron fence as they quickly pulled on their boots. One of many displays that stands out in my mind was the origami cranes that were sent by Japanese children to the children of New York as an act of love, healing, and peace.

…these origami peace cranes represent a fraction of the thousand of these Shinto offerings we received from school children and other group throughout Japan – the most precious of them came from survivors of the W.W. II bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

 

 

 

The gift shop at St. Paul’s Chapel carries the picture book, The Little Chapel That Stood.

Reading – creates global connections even in our youngest school children

Based on the true story of Sadako

The Little Chapel That Stood

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Changing the World Story by Story

  1. the other ruth says:

    How wonderful–the picture is amazing and I love the way you wove these two stories together.

  2. ng says:

    Your piece made me think about how even in tragedy there are moments of beauty and wonder.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    What a special story. Too bad we have to have tragedies in order to connect so beautifully. Maybe the internet will begin to change that? I am beginning to love your posts & the way you weave in good books. Thanks for knowing so many books to share!

  4. Linda Baie says:

    I was too quick to post my comment. I forgot to tell you that I shared your post about Whatever Happened to Mr. Humpty with colleagues last week. They loved the idea of a mystery/forensics for the young ones!

  5. Sprice says:

    Oh, I love this! I am going to try to share this idea with my kids this week, somehow! Just read it this morning, so I have to figure it out! Thanks for sharing! Happy slicing! 🙂

  6. likb says:

    Thanks Deb for the inspiration that comes from this story. It is amazing to me how children can make us adults stop and think about the simple act of caring. That showing someone you care really comes from the little things you do.

Leave a Reply

