A Mother’s Love Runs Deep

SOLC 2011 16.31

I was away from home. Animal lover, Sarah,  was on the other end of the phone line. “Mom, can I ask you a question?” My heart begins to beat a little faster. The heart always speeds up when one asks to ask a question. Question is asked. ” A snake!!” I sputter out in response. “You want to bring your snake over here? Where would you keep it? What is its name? I need to sleep on it. Let me talk to your Dad.”

Fondness for snakes. No. My mind travels to the “farm” where my brother and I played on the weekends. My aunt and uncle lived in the aged house that had crooked floors and walls. In the yard you knew to keep your distance from the snowball bush and the tall grass in the back. You watched your step. On mowing days a snake would usually be chased out where it would meet a clobbering from my uncle. A rope was then tied around the snake and my brother would pull the lifeless snake like a pull toy. Vivid image.  

Does she feed the snake live mice?” I asked my husband. as my mind travels back to the Indiana State Fair. My family is at the Department of Natural Resources display. Aquariums with snakes curled against smooth glass line the walkway. I keep my distance as I walk down the row of aquariums. Then I notice a man walking behind the aquariums. What does he have? A container of mice. It’s feeding time! I can’t escape. There is no place to go. The doomed mouse is placed in the confining small space. My heart pounds in fear for the mouse as it searches frantically for a way out.  I’m filled with  dread. There is no HOPE for this mouse. I turn my head not able to watch and another feeling rises within me…injustice.

A mother’s love runs deep. Snake is now housed in the “tropical” upstairs bedroom. I keep my distance.

Two classic books come to mind when I think of snakes.

Verdi by Janell Cannon

The Day Jimmy's Boa Ate the Wash

This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Mother’s Love Runs Deep

  1. elsie says:

    I love that you didn’t write the question, but the reader can figure it out! Your snake stories were a perfect fit to give background knowledge on your distaste for snakes. I am there with you and find you are incredible for allowing IT to reside in your house. Well told!

  2. Tam says:

    I sleepily start reading your blog this morning and I’m enamored on the first line. My eyes were then glued to your copy. We have already warmed up to the idea that Sarah is an animal lover, and I can imagine reading this to my young grandchildren. Sarah and her love of animals is a picture book!!! I love it. I can see it. It is so your voice!!!! After reading so many children’s books, destiny calls you!!!

  3. Elizabeth E. says:

    You are a saint, through and through. My friend Judy also allows her husband to catch snakes in the wild and bring them home for months at a time. My idea of a good pet is the cement rabbit we have in the corner of the family room.

    I acquiesced to my son’s dog, as I knew I couldn’t get him to visit unless I okayed it, but a snake!! Like I said, you’re a saint.

    Fun post. And although I once had the book Verdi, I got rid of it–it gave me the creeps!

  4. Carol says:

    Yikes! I love my kids, but I don’t know if I’m this brave. The mouse part alone is enough to send me over the edge! A great story!

  5. Ruth says:

    Glad you wrote, no CRAFTED, this story. You are a writer. Tell yourself it now: I, Deb Gaby, am a writer!

    No stop rolling your eyes and believe it!

Leave a Reply

