Slice Vacation

SOLC 2011 11.31

There are several of us from our school district attending the Michigan Reading Conference. We are dog tired. Need toothpicks to prop your eyes open tired. Silly tired. Complaining tired. “Why don’t they have automatic doors? ” I whined as we passed through each door. Our day began before 4:30 a.m. for most of us. The day before had ended after midnight. Tired. So I was very tempted to take a slice vacation. I asked Ruth, “I get three days, right? I can blog 28 days out of 31 days, right?” A slice vacation is like a personal day and I have three! I can post about this. I don’t have to take one now! I still have three personal slice vacation days!

2011 Michigan Reading Conference Bits and Pieces

From Dorothy Strickland on  Common Core State Standards:

We don’t want robot teachers that don’t think.

As far as the process of adoption of CCSS, states must adopt the entire document but could add 15%  more.

A concern for test prep is that it can become mindless practice and sends the message to student: I’m not smart.

Text complexity is not just readability (quantitative). McNamera and others have identified 60 different varables.

New Book purchase:

Twisted Rhymes for Naughty Children

Spinster Goose by Lisa Wheeler

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slice Vacation

  1. Linda Baie says:

    You sound so tired, but like having fun tired, too. Wish I had been to a conference this year. They are great. Have a wonderful time!

  2. Donna Smith says:

    I love silly tired…

  3. Stephanie says:

    I know that kind of tired. I think I had less than ten hours of sleep the three days I was at the NWP Annual Meeting in November. But, the good tired leads to renewed purpose and revived energy in some miraculous way. Enjoy!

  4. grade4wizard says:

    You may be tired but your creative juices are still flowing. How exciting to be at the conference. This should give you many seeds for writing. I hope that you just have time to write daily. Even if it is just a snippet.

  5. Ruth says:

    Slice Vacation? You make me smile. Do you think you’ll really use ’em?
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

