Oscars and Community – Part One

SOLC 2011. 7 of 31

Red Carpet. Awards. Glamour. Fashion. Speeches. Entertainment. Oscar night. I was looking forward to watching the Oscars.  My writing notebook was perched on my knees as I waited to collect words and movie titles. I was not disappointed.

Part of my collection:

My father always said to me that I would be a late bloomer.

From the acceptance speech from David Seidler, the writer of “The King’s Speech”.

“I accept this for all the strutters of the world. We have a voice. We have been heard.”

Halle Berry gave homage to Lena Horne for blazing the trail for women of color.

“It’s not the load that breaks you down. It’s the way you carry it.”

Ninety-four year old Kirk Douglas with cane in hand walked out on the stage to a standing ovation. This community group honoring the work of one their own was inspiring. Did you know Kirk Douglas blogs?

These were just a few of the treasures that filled my writing notebook. I now have a collection of words to reflect upon and a list of movies of watch. Stories matter.  

More this week on other thoughts on Oscar night.

This entry was posted in community, David Seidler, Oscars, Uncategorized, writing notebook and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oscars and Community – Part One

  1. Carol says:

    What a great idea, to bring your writers’ notebook to your Oscar viewing. I especially love the quote about carrying the load. Is the quote by Halle Berry or is it by Lena Horne? Thanks so much for sharing these.

  2. Diana says:

    Inspiring words. I love quotes! I will add to my notebook as well. I’m looking forward to more Oscar night stories. Is the second quote from Lena Horne or did Halle Berry say that herself?

  3. Tam Hess says:

    You are keeping us well informed from all fronts! I watched it, too, for the fashions!!

  4. Sprice says:

    Cool, thanks for sharing this. I didn’t know this. I didn’t watch the Oscars.

  5. elsie says:

    Never thought of collecting words from shows, may have to try this. Love the new picture header, but I miss the Amazon box.

    • Deb says:

      Elsie, The box is underneath the sun and I can’t get it all in on the header. I’m really not very tech savvy! I’m going to try a smaller box. Thanks for your comments!

  6. caroline524 says:

    I never thought of collecting words from the awards. Thanks for sharing this idea with us.

Leave a Reply

