House Hunting

SOLC 2011. 6 of 31

Sarah is gaining her first experiences in becoming a home owner. Last December her intentions were not to own a house but only to find a place to live. Even though the economy is still depressed in our county, rental property is still high. Having pets make it even more difficult to find a place to call home that is affordable. We suggested that she look into buying. What a difference! She discovered that a house payment would be much cheaper than paying rent. Of course she fell in love with a house. A house with character. A house near an used book store. A house near a bakery. A house with a lamp post. A house near a river to launch her kayak. These were signs we thought. Bid placed. Bid accepted. Financing good. Closing set for February 26th. February 26th came and went. No closing. Apparently the government (HUD) has decided that $18,000 more  is needed for paint “repairs”. The house had already passed inspections. Contracts had been signed. I have one disappointed daughter and two disappointed dogs. One very disappointed and depressed dog. (Miss Ellie) “You just have to dream yourself in a different house.” I tell her. It’s hard losing your first love though. Hunt is on again. Yesterday we spent the day looking at properties. I’m discovering that Sarah and I both fall in love with old houses. I think it is because you know that those walls hold stories…of laughter, tears, and life. Younger houses have stories too but…

1943 Caldecott Winner

All of this reminds me of Virginia Lee Burton and The Little House written in 1942. A classic tale that has stood the test of time just like the beautiful older homes gracing our communities. This story would be wonderful to use for the ideas of change, the effects of urbanization, restoration, and more.

Rosemary and Tom Wells

Did you know that in the early to mid 1900s you could order a house through the Sears catalog? A family’s journey into ownership of a mail order house is chronicled in A House in the Mail. I was fascinated when I discovered this piece of history. Prophetstown State Park is a must road trip. One of the many things to explore is the replica of a  Sears catalog home complete with a working farm. Beautiful park that is loaded with Indiana history.

Happy Reading and Road Tripping 🙂

This entry was posted in book review, Caldecott, Road Trips, Uncategorized, Virginia Lee Burton and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to House Hunting

  1. elsie says:

    Your post reminded me of The Old House by Pamela Duncan Edwards. The family sees potential in the old house, much like you and your daughter. However, there is something to be said for a new house and creating the stories as it becomes lived in. New is easier for sure!

  2. Tam says:

    I can’t believe HUD is like that. How disappointing is that? The Little House is already a favorite of ours. My daughter-in-law moved into a Sears Catalogue home of the 1930’s. She completely renovated it, but kept much of the original as possible.

  3. Ruth Ferris says:

    I knew about the catalog houses but had not heard about the book. thank you for sharing I will add this to my to buy list.

  4. Amanda says:

    I remember those days of house-hunting – those homes you walked through to be polite, and those you were already decorating and kept looking at just to be in them. I hope your daughter is able to find another that suits her in due time.

    As I read, I was reminded of this post I came across recently as well and thought you might enjoy! 🙂

    • Deb says:

      A story waiting to be told. What is so surprising is that no homeowner has painted and covered a piece of history. Thanks so much for sharing the post with me.

  5. Elizabeth E. says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog–we used to color in the “e” in our bulletin. I also loved your post about your daughter’s search for a house–my daughter is living a parallel life and it, too, revolves around a government rule. She’s all but moved in her mind and I worry that she won’t be able to move on if the final answer is no, in some fashion or another. Couple that with the fact that they expected to close 1 week ago, moved out of their apartment (she’s married with three children) and are now living with my son and his family. I hope they all survive. To think that a few years ago they were giving away mortgages like candy, and houses were easier to come by. Of course, their reason for buying is just like yours: soooo much cheaper than renting!

Leave a Reply

