The Real Splat the Cat

You only know about three of the four-legged pets at our house presently. Not only does our house have a revolving door for our children but now the door also revolves for animals. Sarah’s revolving door spins a lot.  I don’t even want to know the number of cats that have crossed Sarah’s threshold and then stayed under her care. Since she is living with us for the time being her cats are making temporary homes with friends. I haven’t asked how many friends are helping her out. Again, don’t want to know because  I would know the real number of cats she owns. We worry she is going to become one of those cat ladies you hear about in the news. Besides her father and I are dog people. Cats are not on our animal loving radar. Oh, we will admit that most kittens are cute.  I don’t want to offend cat lovers but cats are arrogant…aloof…think too highly of themselves.   They walk or lay around as if they belong to an elite class that other animals just don’t have a hope to be a part of. Sarah is very aware of our cat feelings but she apparently thinks there is still hope in changing our attitudes. I believe this is why she dared to bring home a kitten. The kitten had been abandoned and needed special care before being adopted out.  As soon as I laid eyes on this scrawny wide-eyed fur ball , I knew.  “Sarah, this is Splat.”  Sarah wasn’t familiar with Rob Scotton’s  Splat. I introduced Sarah and now scrawny cat has a more fitting new name… Splat.

Rob Scotton has written several tales of Splat. His first tale titled, Splat the Cat, reminds me of Wemberly Worried. Ironic? Kevin Henkes selects a worried mouse and Rob Scotton selects a kitten. Both stories will engage any reader as they relate to the worries of the characters. If you are being pulled down by worries, all you need to do is read and watch the video of Pete the Cat.  The video is a must see. Pete the Cat is perfect for a focus lesson to identify the author’s message or big idea. At first one might recommend this title for young child. No…older children and adults will love the message. Watching the video will put a smile on anyone’s face. Adults included.

Happy Reading 🙂

This entry was posted in book review, Kevin Henkes, Primary, Rob Scotton, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Real Splat the Cat

  1. Elizabeth E. says:

    I love exploring–and reading–blogs of K-12 teachers because they bring such a vivid presence to reading. It’s an active process for this group of people–and it’s invigorating to come to your marketplace and sample your wares. Since I have more than a few grandchildren, I’ll be checking out some of these titles; picture books are something I’ve collected for ages (I’ve too many!) and am always looking for something interesting to send along for a birthday.

    Thanks!
    Elizabeth E.
    http://peninkpaper.blogspot.com

  2. Michelle says:

    Splat is adorable! As a cat person, and owner of a little gray tabby, I have to agree with your descriptions, but they have their perks too! Love your book selections!

    • Deb says:

      I hope everyone knows I’m teasing about cats…well, somewhat. 🙂 I do appreciate cats. I’m sure your gray tabby is adorable!

  3. Elizabeth G says:

    You named the cat perfectly…he does look like Splat. I am a cat and dog owner but your description of cats, in general, is spot on. As for your book reccomendation….I agree. Pete the Cat is a staple in our house and my two year old recites it with such enthusiasm…all I can do is smile and read it over and over.

    • Deb says:

      The employees at the Humane Shelter name all of their animals when they come it. This one actually was renamed after I showed Sarah the book cover. I think I can really help Sarah out in this department. I’ll suggest book characters for names! Like you and your daughter I love reading Pete the Cat over and over. I even have a stuffed animal Pete the Cat that I ordered from Amazon.

  4. Tam says:

    I never had a cat until my father-in-law on his almost death bed gave my youngest the nicest of the barn kittens–I couldn’t say, “No.” Fuz was his name and it was a learning experience. If you lose the kitten, don’t just look low, look high, too! He was my buddy and I still think about him more than the dog that died before him. He acted just like dog, went outside and came right back inside. Don’t get me wrong–he did use a litter box in the house. This is something I can’t handle well though. Cats are perfect pets except for the litter!!! Your dog/cat story lines are great.

Leave a Reply

