A Book a Day

Hello Readers! I’m excited about reading and writing in the upcoming year. I’ve been pondering some of the tweets on Twitter. Many of the people I have been following are educators who are passionate about kids and literacy. I’ve noticed over the past month that many tweets were book titles for A Book A Day. A Book A Day is a challenge to read a book a day. There was one tweet that was about pondering the impact on students if teachers read a book a day. Just thinking about the possibilities excite me. I’m creating a page in my blog for logging in the books I read each day. Books can be any genre and picture books count.  Anyone want to join in? Two web sites to log your books are Shelfari and GoodReads. You can also participate in a reading challenge on Facebook: The Centurions of 2011:111 Books by January 2012.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Book a Day

  1. Ruth says:

    My kids and I decided to log our books everyday. I’m excited to see how many we read. The big conversation last night was about the books we reread. Do they deserve to be counted in the books or should we only count the ones that are new. Since they are their mother’s children, we decided rereads absolutely count. In fact, they are sometimes better than the first reads!

    I didn’t consider logging these on GoodReads until reading your post. Maybe we’ll make our reading log digi. 🙂

    Happy reading,
    Ruth

    • Deb says:

      I was also thinking about what counts. I absolutely agree with counting rereads. I’m making my own rules! 🙂 One of the rules I decided on for myself is that even if I read 5 picture books in one day…that’s doesn’t mean I “get off the hook” for the next five days. A book a day for me means a book a day but that is just me! I’m going to log my chapter books and adult reads on the day I complete them. I was also thinking about reading the Bible and counting each Bible book as 1 book. At least those are my personal rules for now. I want to savor the stories and be careful of not getting carried away by numbers. Tell the kids I’m so excited for them. Are you going to use Shelfari or GoodReads? I would love to see their shelves. 🙂

      Joyful reading and writing,
      Deb

  2. the other ruth says:

    Hi Ruth and Deb!
    What a wonderful idea! I’m playing with the idea of doing this as a class at school, but may force myself to wait and start next week, as we are not back from break until tomorrow. I have used Goodreads myself, but have not been able to keep my shelves up to date–and I get frustrated b/c there is no way I can enter all the books I’ve read before. 🙂 I do use it to make/keep lists of want-to-reads and do sometimes go back to rate books.
    However, I’m thinking there may be a way to use this with my class in some form. The tech piece would be very clunky for us right now, but I’m working out ways around that. Deb, can you tell me more about Shelfari? If you can’t see my email from post replies, check with Ruth–she has it.

  3. Teresa says:

    Love your blog! My reading log is in a composition notebook. Not so fancy, but functional for me. I am considering your challenge of a book a day.

    • Deb says:

      I think a composition notebook is perfect! You know me…I have this problem of leaving a trail. I try to carry the notebook in my purse. I misplace it. I begin another one. Misplace. Then I have three going. So far, I haven’t misplaced Shelfari. 🙂

Leave a Reply

